The Winter Solstice.

And thank goodness for that. There is still Full Moon five days away but at least I am half way to some hope and sanity. For a while anyway.

I’ve still got some of the black grapes I sealed in glass jars in the fridge about two months ago. All fine and it’s nice to know that works. One to be remembered for next year. Eat black grapes if you are feeling depressed, but mind and chew the pips as well.

The days will now be getting longer and much more quickly than some realise. The Commune is dead stingy with the street lights around here, although for obvious reasons but it does make the darkness more apparent. And there are only a couple or three street lights anyway.

Happy Winter Solstice everyone. Roast a Pig, or something.

O’Connor says Bon Noel. He doesn’t care which day it is so long as he gets his dinner.

7 Responses to “The Winter Solstice.”

  1. roobeedoo2 Says:

    Princess Poppy Poopstar sends her best wishes in return.

  2. elenamitchell Says:

    Perhaps Pissie and Poopie should get together.

    On the other hand, perhaps not.

  3. Phil G. Says:

    Oh no, not grapes with seeds, please! – that’s harking back to the 1960s. Seedless is the way to go, such as these really sweet ones from Iceland in my usual monthly shop –

    https://www.iceland.co.uk/p/keelings-red-seedless-grapes/31287.html

    Grew my own Black Hamburghs in the greenhouse on a vine which must be at least 20 years old but has only fruited twice with at the most ten small bunches. Keep saying if it doesn’t buck its ideas up it’ll get the chop. Tried various hints/ideas/solutions but there must be a technique to it which I’ve not discovered so far.

    You’re lucky to have some street lighting – I haven’t got any since the electric board decided it would be a good idea to remove my sole one supplied by overhead cables but which kept shorting out the house electrics every so often because of corroded joints. Not all that bothered though because there’s no nearby light pollution now, so I can enjoy a very clear view of Orion the Hunter in the southern sky, my favourite winter constellation.

    Happy Christmas (or whatever you celebrate) to you and yours, Eleanor, not forgetting Des the Dachs of course.

  4. elenamitchell Says:

    The Serotonin which deals with anxiety is in the pips, Phil G. But good for you if you don’t have to deal with this. My Grape Vine has never graped in twenty years. Like The Plum Tree has never plumed. Threats haven’t worked.

    I am just pleased that The Commune is cutting costs on the electricity as we have to pay for this. And like you, I would rather look at the stars anyway.

    Bon Noel for now from me and O’Connor as The Solstice is past.

  5. Phil G. Says:

    So chewed grape pips are effective against numerous ailments between both extremities, they’d have us believe – from alzheimer’s to emerods. Knowing my luck if I accidentally swallowed one whole, it would lodge in my appendix and necessitate an emergency op for resultant peritonitis.

    Did you manage to bag a capon in Lidl? No home-neutered ones for sale in Lidl UK or other major supermarkets for obvious reasons, but possibly French imports in small local butchers. They’d probably have to contend with the animal rights lot protesting outside anyways, so don’t bother selling them.

  6. elenamitchell Says:

    Yep, Robin Dominic bagged a Capon in Lidl. 7.90 Euros the kilo. Usually about three kilos.
    The problem seems to be the difference between hand castration and the chemical variety, the latter of which doesn’t appear to happen in France. Or at least I hope not.
    Anyway, the difference to the meat as compared to Turkey is phenomenal. You have to try one to get it.

    I am currently bombing the last of the Grapes to keep me half sane. But if you never hear from me again then you will know why.

    By the way, O’Connor hasn’t been castrated and never will be. Not my problem as it were. And he has never got his leg over which doesn’t appear to bother him. Nor did my lovely Shar Pei, Romulus and he lived to 13 years of age, which is quite old for a Shar Pei.

    I remain an unadulterated snob about dogs.

  7. elenamitchell Says:

    Testing/

Leave a comment